On this page

    Under the authority of Texas Education Code (TEC) 37.109, Garland ISD hosts a Safety & Security Committee in accordance with the guidelines established by the Texas School Safety Center. Members of the committee include a variety of stakeholders, such as district and campus administrators, Board of Trustee members, local emergency management officials, law enforcement, fire, EMS, parents and staff.

    The committee members work together to implement programs and procedures for supporting student and staff safety. If you are interested in serving on the GISD Safety & Security Committee, please contact Mark Quinn at mquinn@garlandisd.net.

    Meeting Schedule, Agendas & Videos

    The meeting schedules, agendas, and details for upcoming and previous meetings are listed here, along with video links. 

    During the meeting, the "video" link below will connect to the live stream hosted on the official GISD YouTube. For past meetings, the video link will show the meeting recording.

    Date Time Details Agenda Video
    08/01/2023 11:30 a.m. Details Agenda Video
    10/03/2023 11:30 a.m. Details Agenda Video
    01/09/2024 11:30 a.m. Details Agenda Video
    03/05/2024* N/A Canceled
    07/30/24 11:30 a.m Details    
    10/01/24 11:30 a.m Details    
    4/15/25 11:30 a.m Details    

    *If needed for Intruder Detection Audit purposes.

    2023-24 Committee Members

    • Linda Griffin, Board of Trustees President
    • Larry Glick, Board of Trustees
    • Dr. Ricardo Lopez, Superintendent
    • Darrell Dodds, Chief Financial Officer
    • Elisa Cordova Long, Executive Director of Budget
    • Dr. Shelley Garrett, Assistant Superintendent of Safety & Operations
    • Mark Quinn, Director of Security
    • Shauntell Moore, Security Coordinator - Armed Officers
    • Thomas Head, Security Coordinator - Systems
    • Juston Coffman, Security Coordinator - Operations
    • Lt. Wally Sneed, Garland Police Department
    • Lt. Vedran Nosic, Rowlett Police Department
    • Sgt. Brent Merryman, Sachse Police Department
    • Mariah Phipps-Jack, Garland Office of Emergency Management
    • Bran McGee, Teacher
    • Tracey Bergfield, Parent
    • Hung Le, Parent

    Contact us

    If you are interested in joining the committee or have questions, contact: